Bowls | Successful Hall of Fame campaign for Dave Robson and Margie Gibbons

HALL OF FAME TOURNAMENT WINNERS: Dave Robson and Margie Gibbons (centre) are flanked by Division Two winners Les and June Barnes.

HALL OF FAME TOURNAMENT WINNERS: Dave Robson and Margie Gibbons (centre) are flanked by Division Two winners Les and June Barnes.

LITHGOW City Men’s Bowling Club now has one of its youngest ever presidents with the election of Dave Robson to the top position.

Also taking up executive positions are Mike Johnson (vice president), Jim Kelly (secretary), and once again Davie Hunter as treasurer, this time assisted by Jim Kelly and Jim Bannerman.

The committee for the coming bowls year will be Phil Kellond, Stan Campbell, Peter Kearney, Don Kipp, Warren Kennedy, Ken Potter and Kevin Hailstone. Pleasantly, there were two full greens thanks to a visit of men and women bowlers from the Ingleburn Bowling Club on Saturday.

Co-sponsors Club Lithgow, G and R Machin and the Lithgow Men’s Bowling Sub-body contributed a combined $2500 in prizemoney for the annual Hall of Fame open mixed pairs event.

Dave Robson and Marg Gibbons took the major share of the first division prizemoney with second division going to Les and June Barnes.

The 20 teams were split into five sections with four pairings in each section, contesting three games of 12 ends on Saturday.

The top eight from the Saturday games made up the first division combatants for Sunday’s play with the remainder going into second division.

Robson has shown a renewed vigour for the game in recent times, putting this energy to good use to overpower one of the contenders in Jack Rayner and Judy Kennedy.

Robson and Gibbons pushed Rayner and Kennedy out of any of the major prizemoney.

Second place in first division went to Peter Kearney and Marie Stewart with third place going to Jim Bannerman and Carol Posker.

Apart for the Barnes’ win in second division, the minor placings also went to Ken and Kerri Bernard from Col and Cheryl Wotton. At the presentations, Robson not only thanked sponsors, but also Greg and Rowena Machin, who are always strong club supporters.

The winter handicap pairs has been decided, Col Wotton and Athol Roach maintaining their form from preliminary rounds to run out strong 20-13 winners over Dave Robson and Brian Norris.

In club events Mike and Pam Johnson beat off the challenge from firstly Graham Pitt and Norma Thomas 16-13 in a hard fought McMurtrie mixed pairs affair, before playing Ken and Kerri Bernard.

After a hard game the Johnsons cameout the victors.

Col and Cheryl Wotton continued their good form from the Hall of Fame tournament to run out strong winners over the Wrights in Darryl and Lesley.

With one end of regular play left to complete Kellond and Bulkeley were leading 20-16, but a four from the Davidsons levelled the score before a single on the extra end gave them the game.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide