Lithgow mayoral candidates emerge ahead of vote

Lithgow City Council’s mayoral elections will at least be a two-horse race when they are held on September 24. 

Mayor Stephen Lesslie and Cr Maree Statham, who previously served as mayor, have publicly declared their intention to stand.

Cr Statham contacted the Lithgow Mercury on Monday, September 10 to announce her intention. 

The position of mayor was last decided in September 2016, with the election of Cr Stephen Lesslie after a tied vote and a name ‘drawn from the hat'. 

Read more