Tim Minchin honoured at awards gala

Comedian, writer, director and musician Tim Minchin, who satirised Australia's same-sex marriage postal survey by controversially turning I Still Call Australia Home into I Still Call Australia Homophobic, has been honoured at an awards gala in Los Angeles.

Minchin, 42, who wrote the Olivier, Tony and Grammy award-winning musical Matilda, received the Orry-Kelly Award at the sixth annual Australians in Film gala.

The award, named after pioneering (and Oscar-winning) Kiama-born Hollywood costume designer Orry Kelly, recognises an individual whose work in entertainment has contributed to the national identity of Australia.

Previous recipients include directors Baz Luhrmann and John Polson, Big Little Lies producer Bruna Papandrea and film executive Greg Basser.

Emmy-nominated Australian director Kate Dennis and Oscar-nominated Australian screenwriter Luke Davies were also honoured at the awards.

Dennis, who carved herself a place among Hollywood's leading television directors with a stunning Emmy nomination for her work on the critically acclaimed The Handmaid's Tale, will receive the Annette Kellerman Award.

The award, named after the Australian professional swimmer who became one of cinema's first stars in the early 20th century, recognises "trailblazing women" in the US film industry.

And Davies, who was nominated for an Academy Award for his work on Lion, will receive the International Award, which recognises the work of an Australian creative working behind the camera.

When the first recipients were named last month, Dennis said she was "thrilled" to receive the award. "The Australian film community here in LA is so full of talent and so full of support, I feel lucky to be a part of it," Dennis said.

Other award recipients this year include two senior Disney studio executives: vice-president of film and television production planning Mary Ann Hughes and senior vice-president of production finance Paul Steinke.

Both Hughes and Steinke were involved in bringing key international productions to Australia, including Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales and Thor: Ragnarok.

Each was given the Ausfilm International Award for their contribution to Australia's film industry.

And four Australians working in Hollywood received the Breakthrough Award: actors Katherine Langford and Danielle Macdonald, director Alethea Jones and writer/cinematographer/director Warwick Thornton.

Past recipients of the Breakthrough Award include Margot Robbie, Chris Hemsworth, Elizabeth Debicki and Joel Edgerton.

The gala, held at NeueHouse in Hollywood, was hosted by actor Patrick Brammall.

Brammall, whose credits include the ABC drama Glitch and the Nine miniseries Power Games, is producing and starring in the US adaptation of the Stan comedy No Activity.

The guest list included actors Josh Lawson and Damon Herriman, Once Upon A Time star Emile de Ravin, director Jeffrey Walker and American producer Greg Berlanti.

Also attending were actor Daniel McPherson and his wife, actor Zoe Ventura, Emmy Award-winning producer Bruna Papandrea, director Trent O'Donnell and Heath Ledger Scholarship winner Mojean Aria.

Australians in Film is a Los Angeles-based entertainment industry advocacy group that runs education, screening and networking programs to support Australian film and television makers working in Hollywood.

This story Tim Minchin honoured at awards gala first appeared on The Sydney Morning Herald.