Stronger Country Communities Fund deadline extended for Lithgow

The playground area in Lithgow's Queen Elizabeth Park.
The playground area in Lithgow's Queen Elizabeth Park.


Due to the overwhelming response from community members in Lithgow LGA, residents have been given another month to have their say on how to spend the $1.7 million community funding grant from the NSW Government.

Lithgow City Council will now be required to finalise its applications for the Stronger Country Communities Fund by Wednesday, September 13.

The original deadline was scheduled for Wednesday, August 9.

Local member for Bathurst Paul Toole said the community response has been phenomenal, and to ensure the process is carefully measured and considered, the NSW Government has granted additional time to ensure the most worthy projects benefit.

Mr Toole’s office said the deadline extension was granted specifically to Lithgow.

“I have spoken to many individuals and community groups in the past few weeks who have some great ideas on how to invest the $1.7 million into the Lithgow Local Government Area,” Mr Toole said.

“To be in a strong position to have the projects considered and approved, we are now asking groups to produce plans, a budget and project brief in relation to the proposed works.

Mr Toole said the fund will support projects between $100,000 and $1 million, or higher with financial co-contribution, with the Lithgow community receiving funding over two years.

“The Stronger Country Communities Fund is a once-in-a-generation investment in the facilities and services that makes our towns and regional cities the best places in NSW to live and work.

“I hope to see the investment spread across all areas of the LGA and look forward to seeing the shortlisted projects.”

The Stronger Country Communities Fund is part of the NSW Government’s $1.3 billion Regional Growth Fund, designed to improve economic growth and productivity with investment in regional communities.

Community groups and individuals should submit their ideas to Lithgow City Council in writing at 180 Mort Street, Lithgow or

For more information visit