Lithgow City Council byelection ballot paper finalised

AT THE DRAW: Candidates Col Hunter, Peter Lee and Rod Gurney. Photo: HOSEA LUY
AT THE DRAW: Candidates Col Hunter, Peter Lee and Rod Gurney. Photo: HOSEA LUY

The ballot paper for Lithgow City Council’s by-election has been finalised after the ballot draw on Wednesday afternoon.

The draw took place at the returning office in Main Street, Lithgow.

Candidates Peter Lee, Rod Gurney and Col Hunter were present at the draw as well as Mayor Stephen Lesslie, Councillor Maree Statham and Lithgow City Council acting general manager, Andrew Muir*.

As the only grouped candidates Peter Lee and Rod Gurney were placed in the first column of the ballot paper and were not included in the draw as prescribed by the Local Government Act.

Results of the ballot paper draw. Photo: HOSEA LUY

Results of the ballot paper draw. Photo: HOSEA LUY

The ungrouped candidates were then listed on the right side of the ballot.

Deanna Goodsell was the first drawn from the box and will be the first ungrouped candidate to appear on the ballot paper.

Following her is former councillor Col Hunter.

Third place went to Darryl Goodwin and the final place went to Greg Guest.

The Lithgow by-election will take place on April 8 to fill the two council positions to replace barred former councillor Martin Ticehurst and Geoff Cox, who resigned in January.

Pre-polling will run Monday to Friday for the two weeks prior to the election.

It is open between 8.15am and 4.30pm except on Friday, April 7, the day before the election, when it will be open between 8.15am and 6pm.

Anyone unable to make it to a polling booth on the day is required to pre-poll or sign up for postal voting. There is no absentee voting at the byelection.

There will be 14 polling booths open on the day of the byelection, the same number as for the general council election in 2016.

They are situated in Lithgow and surrounding towns including Portland, Wallerawang and Hartley.

Anyone wanting to sign up for postal voting or interested in working at the byelection should visit the Electoral Commission of NSW website.​

*Incorrectly attributed to Iain Stewart in the Lithgow Mercury on Friday March 10.


Discuss "Byelection ballot paper finalised"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.